19th International Conference on
Automated Planning and Scheduling

September 19-23, 2009, Thessaloniki, Greece


Doctoral Consortium

(Call for Doctoral Consortium Papers in txt, pdf - outdated)

Opinion Survey

If you are a DC student, please spend a few minutes to go through this opinion survey.


New! The doctoral consortium proceedings are now online (3.82MB).


The DC program consists of two events:  

A) DC meeting on September 19th (whole day). This meeting comprises short oral presentations, activities in themed-cluster working groups and meetings with mentors. More particularly, the schedule for this day is:  

09:00-09:30 Introduction
amphitheater 9
09:30-10:30 Themed-cluster working groups. Each student will have 15 minutes for oral presentation.
amphitheaters 9, 8, 7, 5 and 4 for clusters 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 respectively
10:30-11:00 Coffee break
11:00-12:30 Themed-cluster working groups - mentoring activity
amphitheaters 9, 8, 7, 5 and 4 for clusters 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 respectively
12:30-14:00 Lunch break
14:00-14:30 Invited talk by Subbarao Kambhampati: How to write a research paper (and not to die trying it).
amphitheater 9
14:30-15:30 Themed-cluster working groups. Preparation of a roadmap for the final global debriefing
amphitheaters 9, 8, 7, 5 and 4 for clusters 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 respectively
15:30-16:00 Coffee break

Final global debriefing (all DC students). Each working group will have 15 minutes for oral presentation
amphitheater 9

17:30-18:00 Conclusions
amphitheater 9

B) DC poster session on Monday, September 21st, 15:30 to 16:45. This session comprises a poster session attached to the main ICAPS conference. More information about the size of the poster stands is available here.

Themed-cluster working groups & mentoring activities

There will be five clusters, organised as follows:

Cluster 1 (amphitheater 9)




Andrey Kolobov

Integrating Paradigms for Approximate Probabilistic Planning

Daniel Bryce

Marcello Cirillo

A Human-Aware Robot Task Planner

Daniel Bryce

Omar Zia Khan

Minimal Sufficient Explanations for Factored Markov Decision Processes

Hector Geffner

Cluster 2 (amphitheater 8)




Masahiro Ono

Market-based Risk Allocation for Multi-agent Systems

Federico Pecora

Frederik Heger

A Hybrid Assembly Task Planning System: Where Motion Planning Helps Symbolic Planning Find Good Solutions For Real-World Applications

Federico Pecora

Kartik Talamadupula

Integrating a Closed World Planner and an Open World Robot

Ari Jonsson

Alexander Niveau

Using Interval Automata to Represent Decision Policies with Continuous Variables

Ari Jonsson

Cluster 3 (amphitheater 7)




Xiaoxun Sun

Efficient Incremental Search for Moving Target Search

Adi Botea

Jordan Thayer

Revisiting Bounded Suboptimal Heuristic Search

Adi Botea

Hootan Nakhost

Action Elimination and Plan Neighborhood Graph Search: Two Algorithms for Plan Improvement

Joerg Hoffmann

Erez Karpas

Learning to Combine Admissible Heuristics Under Bounded Time

Derel Long

Cluster 4 (amphitheater 5)




Nir Lipovetzky

Inference and Decomposition in Planning Using Causal Consistent Chains

T. Lee McCluskey

Alan Lindsay

Learning Policies to Exploit an Extended Domain Model

Daniel Borrajo

James MacGlashan

Hierarchical Skill Learning for High-Level Planning

Susana Fernández

Shahin Shah

An Investigation into Using Object Constraints to Synthesize Planning Domain Models

Daniel Borrajo

Cluster 5 (amphitheater 4)




Robert Effinger

Dynamic Controllability of Temporally-flexible Reactive Programs

Andrew Coles

Mauro Vallati

An Automatically Configurable Portfolio-based Planner with Macro-actions: PbP

Andrew Coles

Patrick Conrad

Flexible Execution of Plans with Choice

Angelo Oddi

Melissa Liew

Issues in Temporal Planning using Timed Petri Nets

Angelo Oddi

Doctoral Consortium chairs

Program Committee

  • Daniel Borrajo, Universidad Carlos III (Spain)
  • Adi Botea, NICTA (Australia)
  • Ronen Brafman, Ben-Gurion University (Israel)
  • Daniel Bryce, Utah State University (USA)
  • Andrew Coles, University of Strathclyde (UK)
  • Yannis Dimopoulos, University of Cyprus (Cyprus)
  • Minh B. Do, Palo Alto Research Center (USA)
  • Carmel Domshlak, Israel Institute of Technology (Israel)
  • Fernando Fernández, Universidad Carlos III (Spain)
  • Susana Fernández, Universidad Carlos III (Spain)
  • Hector Geffner, Universitat Pompeu Fabra (Spain)
  • Patrick Haslum, Australian National University (Australia)
  • Malte Helmert, University of Freiburg (Germany)
  • Joerg Hoffmann, SAP Research (Germany)
  • Ari K. Jónsson, Reykjavík University (Iceland)
  • Sven Koenig, University of Southern California (USA)
  • Roman van der Krogt, University College Cork (Ireland)
  • Ugur Kuter, University of Maryland (USA)
  • Derek Long, University of Strathclyde (UK)
  • Tim Lee McCluskey, University of Huddersfield (UK)
  • Angelo Oddi, ISTC-CNR (Italy)
  • Federico Pecora, Örebro University (Sweeden)
  • Kanna Rajan, Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute (USA)
  • Alessandro Saetti, Università degli Studi di Brescia (Italy)
  • Oscar Sapena, Universidad Politécnica de Valencia (Spain)
  • Gérard Verfaillie, ONERA, Centre de Toulouse (France)
  • Petr Vilim, ILOG (Czech Republic)